Toddler frustration. Building frustration. Vampire frustration…

Seriously! Is it just me or is this GAME getting harder?

I seemed to have spent most of this month building stuff, because it felt a lot less taxing than playing the game. I am not moaning though 🙂 I love this game and I like the way it’s gently (but firmly) led me into exploring the building aspect. Because that’s the thing I least enjoyed in the previous games. Now I am actually enjoying it. And that’s probably thanks to the game and expansion packs, because they’ve given me content to experiment with, and I love all the beaten up, grungy, weathered stuff that came with the vampire pack – especially the living cobwebs and the crumbling wall decor, it’s cool.
01-23-17_7-29-37-pm
So it started with the glamour of a new bedroom in their swanky new penthouse. Honestly Mrs Simself was in a perpetual state of giddiness, like a queen bee in her three storey hive of glittering luxury. Not even a sulky teenage son, or the clumsy butler could make her feel down. Luckily her fundraising commitments took her out of the apartment for most of the day, but then the inevitable happened and twin babies were born!

And then they grew up into toddlers 😦 Urgh! I suppose it’s ok to say they weren’t very attractive… I mean, I wouldn’t say it outloud if they were some other Sims kids, but these are ours so I’ll just come straight out with it. Ugly! And that hair Urgh!!

Anyhoo, that’s what the CAS cheat is there for. Mrs Simself seems to always be wearing a bikini 🙂 that’s just because there’s a hot tub on the balcony and it’s where she goes to relax (honest). They moved out of the penthouse and into the Old Salthouse, I really don’t like the penthouses. Trying to follow three caregivers and two toddlers around three floors of sprawling real estate was a total nightmare. And I thought the smaller house would be easier, but because it was such a nightmare I channelled all my gameplay into building, and then because I ran out of commercial venues I started on their new home. And now that’s on three levels too! But at least now the toddlers are less dependant and are running! around on their own. Running!? Bloody hell 😦
02-24-17_2-10-01-pm
02-13-17_2-54-04-pm
I also rebuilt their holiday home, it used to be the over sized Greek inspired villa (with the cute housekeeper), now it’s more compact  and a lot easier to get around. Mrs Simself is still in the political career, their teenage son is actually quite cool now because he’s great with the toddlers, and Gianni Simself has quit work for good this time. It was all too much…


The vampire story

I really like the vampires, surprising because I really didn’t in TS3. There’s so much to them now that even if you don’t like the idea of them, it’s hard not to be impressed by the theatre. I love it when they pop up in a cloud of smoke, and the way other Sims react to their biting. The fighting is good and the smoldering in sunlight even better, though I’ve yet to see one die in the sunshine. I am playing Count Vladislaus because I like the way his dark half looks. One thing I really want to do is have his dark half wear a hospital gown, but I’ve forgotten how to find them in the catalogue. There are some CC gowns available but they’re all bright comedy coloured, what I would really like is to find a dirty, tattered version that looks like he was buried in it. Maybe that’s the boost I need to figure out how to make some CC of my own.

I’ve been slow to get going with vampires because I wanted a good Sim in one of the towns to be able to cure the victims. I had originally planned for one of the Goths to learn the trade, but I like them as they are. By chance I found a homeless single male Sim in household management. Melvin Wiley seemed perfect for the job because he’s got a really big beard and a cool surname ‘Wily’ Then I spotted another single, homeless Sim, Hakim Mounib, this one is fun because he’s big and athletic looking but he’s got that goofy walk which made him perfect as the wily vampire hunters dopey sidekick.

Unfortunately that all changed as soon as they started sharing a house, they took turns flirting and before I knew it they were romantically entangled! So back I go to the homeless bin. I’d noticed a very beautiful Indian lady, Ananya Gupta around town so I found her and moved her in also. It took a couple of days of misery for the two men to quit moaning at each other and crying under the covers, but now apart from the occasional outbursts of jealousy Melvin and Ananya are a happy couple. Happy to toil away in the garden night and day cultivating and harvesting the ingredients for the vampire cure. Hakim will come around eventually and his goofiness will win out especially since curing vampires is anything but simple!
02-22-17_9-10-08-pm02-22-17_9-10-36-pm02-22-17_9-11-26-pm02-22-17_2-49-19-pm
They live and work in an underground bunker beneath an abandoned trailer in Oasis Springs. And I like it mostly, I wish I’d planned it better though, it might have been cool to hide the stairs in the old trailer so there’s no discernible entrance on the lot. But by that time I was done with building and bogged down with vampire hunting.

I know I am probably going about this the wrong way, and because I’ve been caught out moaning about stuff I was doing wrong previously, I’ll put in this soft moan quietly…

So Melvin the vampire hunter researched all there was to learn about vamps and qualified with the knowledge to make the vampire cure cocktail. Good enough, Ananya had been busy gardening and there was plenty of produce to make their first attempt. Vlad the bad had been seen biting into the neck of a pretty damsel in one of the clubs, so Melvin went hunting. Seeing the Sim transform into a vampire is cool too, although she hung about too long and started smoldering before she figured out it would wiser to get indoors! Melvin found and befriended her, then tried to invite her over – it was nighttime and she was sleeping! He tried the next day and of course “she’s a vampire and couldn’t do that” turns out there’s a brief window between 9 and 11pm where they’re willing to leave their nest. But then with the cure in his inventory he set about 8 hours solid mocking, hating, arguing and fighting with her with no option to give her the cure. He could have slayed her within the first hour, he was even able to throw ‘a drink’ at her but it wasn’t the cure and she laughed at his failure 😦

Eventually the sun came up, Melvin was wasted being truly nasty is exhausting. His two cohorts had quit trying to help hours earlier and were happily sleeping, and the vampire went home.

That evening he travelled to the vamps house, he still had the cure in his inventory and I’d read online that it still worked even if it had gone bad. It hadn’t by that time, so he knocked on the door and was invited in. The house was empty, and Mrs vampire was eventually found sleeping in a double bed with her teenage son!!!

And so began another marathon effort to apply the cure by any means available, but it wasn’t to be because that option never came up. The option to slay was always available, is that what I should be doing? It’s not what I wanted to do. Why provide a cure if that’s the only way to deal with vamps. There must be an easier way…

I think if I was a game developer and someone at EA were to ask me, I would suggest they keep the ‘Slay’ option in the mean menu and a ‘Cure’ option in the friendly menu. Maybe that’s how it works already and I am missing something. Whatever, Melvin left the cure at the vamps house because it had gone bad, so maybe she’s found it and cured herself – who can blame her? After enduring three days of verbal abuse she probably decided life would be more peaceful without the angry vigilante’s attempts at ‘healing’ her.
02-23-17_3-18-52-pm
…to be continued!

edit 25/2/17: I think the ‘Cure’ problem is caused because the victim is only a fledgling vampire. I just tried with the Count. After a short fight Melvin the hunter was able to throw the cure at him and turn him back to mortal. If that’s the case then it makes hunting random townie vamps a lot more challenging, especially if they’re homeless. But it also adds a lot of realism because the hunter is going to make a lot of undead enemies in his quest to cure them all. And it’s also a tad easier to have Vlad turn Sims that I know already in the game, that way I can play them as vamps, then swap back to the hunter when I know he can cure them. As for the random townies he can always slay those anyway 🙂

One thought on “Toddler frustration. Building frustration. Vampire frustration…

Leave a Reply

